August 12th horror history

August 12


1986 – Electra Avellan, has appeared in “Hidden in the Woods”, “Machete Kills”, “Machete”, “The Black Waters of Echo’s Pond”, “Planet Terror”, and “Death Proof.”

1986 – Elise Avellan, twin sister of Electra, has appeared in “Machete Kills”, “Machete”, “The Black Waters of Echo’s Pond”, “Planet Terror”, and “Death Proof.”

1980 – Dominique Swain, appears in “Nazis at the Center of the Earth”, “Trance”, “Nightfall”, and more.

1972 – Rebecca Gayheart who appeared in the films “Urban Legend,” “Scream 2,” “From Dusk Til Dawn 3,” ” Santa’s Slay” and the Showtime series “Dead Like Me.”

1956 – Bruce Greenwood, who appeared in the films “Disturbing Behavior,” “I, Robot” and as “Christopher Pike” in the 2009 remake of “Star Trek.”

1954 – Sam Jones who played the title role in the 1980 version of “Flash Gordon” and appeared in the film “Revamped.”

1947 – John Nathan-Turner, who produced the “Dr. Who” TV series from 1980 to 1989.

1939 – George Hamilton, who played “Count Dracula” in “Love At First Bite,” and starred in the film “The Power” and the TV movie “The Dead Don’t Die.”

1931 – William Goldman who wrote the screenplays for the films “The Stepford Wives,” “Magic” and “Misery.”

1928 – Dan Curtis who produced the original and 1990 versions of the TV series “Dark Shadows” and such films as “The Night Stalker,” “The Night Strangler” and “Trilogy of Terror.”

1898 – Oskar Homolka, who appeared in the films “The Invisible Woman,” “Mr. Sardonicus” and the 1968 TV version of “Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde.”

1893 – Howard Smith who appeared in the films “I Bury the Living” and “Face of Fire.”


  •  Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde 1941 
  • Back From the Dead 1957 
  • The Unknown Terror 1957 
  • The Pit And The Pendulum 1961 
  • Suspiria 1977 
  • Funeral Home 1980 
  • Cujo 1983 
  • Mindwarp 1992 
  • The Ghost And The Darkness 1996 
  • The Skeleton Key 2005
  •  I Saw the Devil 2010 
  • Final Destination 5 2011
Copyright © Attention Earthlings.